ibc 2015, RAI Amsterdam Conference 10-14 September 2015, Exhibition 11-15 September 2015

banner advert


IBC Awards Categories

IBC is the place where vendors and users come together to develop innovative technological solutions to meet real creative and commercial challenges. The IBC Awards celebrate that spirit of collaboration as well as the best in new technology.

IBC Innovation Awards

IBC2012The IBC Innovation Awards celebrate the partnership between a broadcaster or production company and technology suppliers that push for and deliver the quality, creativity and accessibility of content to the audience.

Applicants can submit their project to IBC early in the year under three categories; Content Creation, Content Management and Content Delivery. An international panel of judges carefully study each entry and the shortlist is published in May.

arrowView the winners of the IBC2014 Innovation Awards
ArrowView the entry criteria for the IBC Innovation Awards

International Honour for Excellence

ifhe winner

The highest honour IBC bestows, the International Honour for Excellence is awarded each year to an individual or organisation that has made an outstanding contribution to the broadcast industry. Past winners have included Director James Cameron, Manolo Romero, Olympic Broadcasting Services and in 2011 Sir David Attenborough for a career spanning 60 years of endlessly innovative wildlife television.

The IBC2014 International Honour for Excellence was awarded to FIFA TV and in 2013 the IHFE was awarded to Director, Sir Peter Jackson.

Best Conference Paper Award

Conference paperThe IBC Conference, with its important exchange of ideas and opinions, is at the very heart of IBC. Within the conference, the technical papers programme is seen as the most important global arena to unveil the latest in cutting edge research.

The Technical Papers Committee provides a peer review of every paper to be presented. From their deliberations they also choose the single paper which best combines innovative thinking and clarity of presentation, with the author receiving the IBC Best Conference Paper Award.

To find out more about what is required to enter an IBC Technical Paper, read the Technical Papers and Poster Guidelines.

In 2014 the Best Conference Paper Award went to Messrs. G. Alberico, A. Bertella, S. Ripamonti and M. Tabone at Italy’s RAI for 'DVB-T2 Lite - exploiting HDTV networks for services to mobile receivers'


Judges' Prize

fifa and partnersThere is a fourth award that is presented at the gift of the judging panel. The Judges’ Prize may be drawn from the nominations in the three Innovation Award categories, or it may be another project which has caught their eye because of its creative, technical or commercial imagination.

Past winners of the Judges' Prize include Stereoscopic 3D coverage of the 2010 FIFA World Cup and DNA's Single frequency networks for HD with DVB-T2, which was awarded in 2011.  

The 2014 Judges' Prize was awarded to FIFA TV for Advanced broadcasting and multi-platform coverage of the 2014 FIFA World Cup.  Read more


Special Award

Special AwardFrom time to time, IBC makes a special award to a project, a person or a programme which has gone the extra mile and achieved something truly remarkable. 

Past examples have included the NHK development of Super Hi-Vision, Sky Television’s 3D coverage of the 2010 FIFA World Cup, and in 2011 Atlantic Productions’ remarkable documentary Flying Monsters 3D with Sir David Attenborough. 

The IBC2014 Special Award was given to Wiener Staatsoper – Vienna State Opera for bringing live performances to multi-platform delivery from smartphone to 4k Ultra-HD, to Samsung smart TVs.


Exhibition Design Awards

Helping visitors find the technologies they require from the 1,400+ IBC exhibitors is a challenge. We play our part in the way we lay out the halls by theme, and the exhibitors play their part by designing stands which guide the visitor and showcase their products.

A dedicated team of judges tour the entire exhibition, looking carefully at every stand and choosing those which they regard as outstanding in terms of accessibility, clarity and image. There are three IBC Exhibition Design Awards: for the Most Imaginative Yse of Shell Scheme Space, Best Use of Shell Scheme Space, and for the Best Smaller and Larger Free-Design Stands.

ArrowRead more about the judging criteria for this award

View the 2014 winners of the Exhibition Stand Design Awards



Rewatch IBC's MENA Event on IBC TV On Demand