Naomi Climer will be awarded the Lifetime Achievement honour at the annual TVBEurope Awards.

Climer is the first female to be presented with the award and will be inducted into the TVBEurope Hall of Fame alongside 2016 winner John Holton. 

Naomi climer

Naomi Climer

Climer said: “I’m really delighted with this recognition, it’s an honour to win a lifetime achievement award for a career I’ve absolutely loved in an industry that continuously presents new and interesting challenges.”

Climer is Past President and Trustee at The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), Chair of the IBC Council, Chair of the UK Government (DCMS) Future Communications Challenge Group (FCCG) looking at the technology opportunities for the UK around 5G, Governor on the Board of the National Film and Television School (NFTS) and Non-Executive at Sony UK Technology Centre.

Until March 2015, she was President of Sony’s Media Cloud Services, based in Los Angeles.

Previously, Climer headed Sony Professional across Europe.

In 2016, she was listed in the Daily Telegraph and Women’s Engineering Society 50 Most Influential Women in UK Engineering.

Climer also made the Computer Weekly’s 50 Most Influential Women in the UK IT 2015 and 2016 and won the IABM’s Broadcast Industry Woman of the Year Award in 2014.

NewBay Content Director James McKeown said: “I think it’s wonderful that Naomi’s career achievements are being recognised at this year’s TVBAwards.”

“Naomi is one of the most influential figures in British engineering, notably becoming the first female president of the IET as well as being elected as a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

“Her service to, and influence within, the broadcast industry has been immense and I can’t think of a more deserving winner of this year’s honour,” said McKeown. 

The TVBAwards celebrate success stories in the media and entertainment industry by recognising and rewarding those pushing the boundaries in the production, management, and delivery of today’s media content. Six honours will be awarded this year: Lifetime Achievement, Innovation and R&D, Rising Star, Achievement in Live Production, Overall Broadcast Production, and Achievement in Post Production.

The awards take place at London’s Millennium Mayfair Hotel on Wednesday 7 June.