The BBC led the way at this year’s RTS Television Journalism Awards 2023, with 11 wins across both news and current affairs, including Network Daily News Programme of the Year for BBC News at Ten and Network Presenter of the Year which was awarded to Clive Myrie.

ITV took home five awards including Current Affairs – Home for people smuggling report ‘The Crossing’ and Nations and Regions News which was awarded for coverage of the Manchester Arena Inquiry.

2. RTS_Network Presenter of Year_Clive Myrie.mage credit RTS-Richard KendalJPG

Network Presenter of the year: Clive Myrie

Source:  RTS, Richard Kendal

Sky News garnered three wins, including the coveted Channel of the Year award and Network Television Journalist of the Year which was awarded to Stuart Ramsay, whose team’s car was shot up by Russian forces during the invasion of the Ukraine.

The RTS Special Award, recognising an outstanding contribution to the advancement of video journalism during the awards year, was presented to the BBC, ITN, PA & Sky News, whose ‘Cameras In Courts’ campaign secured access to the Crown Courts for the first time.

Read more Audio journalism – the key to customer engagement and monetisation for publishers?

Jeremy Paxman took home the prestigious Outstanding Contribution Award, which is given at the discretion of the jury, for his distinguished and varied career achievements that span multiple decades in the television industry.

Simon Bucks, Chair, RTS Television Journalism Awards, said: “In an incredibly busy year for news, the quality of entries was exceptional; probably the best I can remember for many years. In several categories the judges agreed that many of the entries would be a worthy winner. And although Ukraine was undoubtedly the dominant story, it is gratifying that plenty of other important topics – U.K. and international – are represented among the nominations and winners.”

The RTS Television Journalism Awards 2023, in partnership with Wolftech and Dataminr, were held at the London Hilton on Park Lane, hosted by journalist and presenter, Dan Walker.

RTS Television Journalism Awards 2023 winners

Breaking News: Russian Invasion of Ukraine – CNN International

Camera Operator of the Year: Mstyslav Chernov – The Associated Press

Current Affairs – Home: The Crossing – Exposure DM Documentary Productions for ITV1

Current Affairs – International: Under Poisoned Skies – BBC World News BBC News Arabic Investigations for BBC News Arabic

Innovation Award: BBC News: Undercover Voters – BBC Newsnight / Americast – BBC News for BBC One / BBC Two / BBC World & BBC News Channel / BBC Sounds

Nations and Regions Factual: The Great Ferries Scandal – Disclosure BBC Scotland for BBC One Scotland

Nations and Regions News: Manchester Arena Inquiry – Emergency Response – Granada Reports – ITV News Granada for ITV1

Nations and Regions Reporter of the Year: Colin Campbell – BBC South East Today – BBC South East for BBC One

Network Daily News Programme of the Year: BBC News at Ten – BBC News for BBC One

Network Interview of the Year: Lukashenko Rosenberg – BBC News for BBC News Channel

Network Presenter of the Year: Clive Myrie – BBC News for BBC One

Network Television Journalist of the Year: Stuart Ramsay – Sky News

News Channel of the Year: Sky News

News Coverage – Home: Partygate – ITV News – ITN / ITV News for ITV1

News Coverage – International: War in Ukraine – BBC News for BBC One

On-Demand Journalism: Should I Tell You I’m Trans? Disclosure – iPlayer Shorts – BBC Scotland for BBC iPlayer

Political Journalist of the Year: Paul Brand – ITV News – ITN / ITV News for ITV1

Scoop of the Year: Partygate – ITV News – ITN / ITV News for ITV1

Specialist Journalist of the Year: Michael Buchanan – BBC News for BBC One

Young Talent of the Year: Vasilisa Stepanenko, Ukraine War – The Associated Press

RTS Special Award: BBC, ITN, PA & Sky News – Cameras in Court

Outstanding Contribution Award: Jeremy Paxman

Read more 5 minutes with… BBC R&D