• RTS reveals recipients for 2019 undergraduate bursary scheme
  • 35 bursaries granted for TV production and broadcast journalism, with eight given for tech
  • RTS also partners with BAFTA for two apprenticeship bursaries

RTS full logo

RTS: Announce recipients for 2019 undergraduate bursary scheme (listed below)

The Royal Television Society (RTS) has named the recipients for its 2019 undergraduate bursaries, which aim to widen participation in and access to the media industry.

Since 2014, the bursaries have supported talented students from lower-income backgrounds seeking to pursue careers in television.

2019 sees the RTS offering more than double the number of bursaries compared to the number at launch, with 35 bursaries for Television Production and Broadcast Journalism students and eight bursaries for Technology students awarded.

This year, the list of eligible courses was substantially expanded and for the first time, the RTS invited applications from students studying a ScreenSkills accredited higher national diploma.

STV is sponsoring 10 bursaries, All3Media are sponsoring six, and the Steve Hewlett Memorial Fund is supporting the Steve Hewlett Scholarship. In addition, for the first time this year, RTS will be awarding two bursaries to support apprenticeships in partnership with BAFTA.

RTS CEO Theresa Wise said: “Congratulations to all the awardees. We are delighted with the success of our bursary scheme since its launch five years ago. We are now providing more opportunities for new entrants from different backgrounds through a wider list of eligible courses. It is very important that we continue to broaden the pool of new talent entering the industry, and we are very much looking forward to supporting the 2019 bursary recipients through their education and into their future careers.”

During their studies, each recipient will receive £1,000 per year to assist with their expenses and living costs. In addition, each beneficiary will receive free membership of the RTS and associate membership of the h Club – a private members club for those in the creative industries – while studying, and one year’s free membership of the RTS after they graduate. In their final year of study, the RTS will also aim to set-up mentoring opportunities with one of their industry members.

One undergraduate has also been awarded the Steve Hewlett scholarship and will also receive £2,000 per annum from the Steve Hewlett Memorial Fund supported by the RTS and The Media Society.

The recipients were selected by a panel of industry professionals following an open call to UK students applying for courses at accredited colleges and universities.

The Television Production and Broadcast Journalism Bursary awardees are:

Abdullatif Mahjoub, Bethany Moore, Bethany Watt, Charlotte Humphreys, Cheyanne Bryan, Connor McGhie, Craig Rae, Dylan-Starr Adams, Edmund Flyte, Ferhan Kana, Flora Willows, Hannah Molyneux, Jake Smith, Jasmine Thom, Jennifer Mawby, Jessica Kelly, Joey Houldsworth, Kara Devlin, Katherine Padmore, Kenneth Maguire, Kiran Rajani, Kirstie Murray-Dale, Kristine Brence, Malaya Rhiann Edwards-Roberts, Marta Miadowicz, Mike Milenko, Nina Durbidge, Oliver Youd, Ross Harkins, Sadie Maude, Sophie Irvine, Stacey Turner, Szimonetta Simon and Thomas Hitchings.

Those receiving a Technology Bursary are:

Ajan Manoharan, Hameed Roleola, Ibrahim Mohamed, Kylia Prince-Anastasiou, Lea Racine, Mariatu Davies, Milena Stefanovic and Murat Saglam.

This year the Steve Hewlett Memorial Fund Scholar is Oisín-Tomás Ó Raghallaigh, while the BAFTA Apprenticeships have been awarded to Connor Tong and Matthew Sherwood.