BAFTA has unveiled the five nominees for its annual EE Rising Star Award: Phoebe Dynevor, Ayo Edebiri, Jacob Elordi, Mia McKenna-Bruce and Sophie Wilde.

Phoebe Dynevor can currently be seen in the finance thriller, Fair Play, directed by Chloe Domont, which premiered at Sundance in early 2023. She is arguably best known for her role as Daphne Bridgerton in Bridgerton. Dynevor is also set to star opposite Diane Lane and Zoey Deutch in thriller, Anniversary.

1. BAFTA rising star. Credit Tom Dymond - EE2234

BAFTA Rising star nominees have been announced

Source: Tom Dymond

Ayo Edebiri is an American comedian, writer, producer, actress and voice actress who most recently starred in Bottoms, the satirical teen comedy which premiered in August 2023. She has also starred in TV hit The Bear, earning her an Emmy nomination for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Jacob Elordi can currently be seen in Emerald Fennell’s award season contender Saltburn, as well as Elvis Presley in Sofia Coppola’s film Priscilla. Upcoming projects include The Narrow Road to The Deep North, based on Richard Flanagan’s Booker Prize-winning novel.

Read more Jay Hunt appointed as Chair of the BFI

Mia Mckenna-Bruce is an English actress who is receiving acclaim for her lead performance in Molly Manning-Walker’s film, How to Have Sex. She also starred in the 2022 film adaptation of Jane Austen’s Persuasion.

Sophie Wilde most recently appeared as the lead in hit horror Talk To Me. The Australian actress will next appear in Baby Girl, alongside Nicole Kidman and Harris Dickinson and Boy Swallows Universe, opposite Phoebe Tonkin.

Celebrating its 19th year, the EE Rising Star Award is the only award at the EE BAFTA Film Awards voted for by the British public.

The winner will be announced on Sunday 18th February 2024 at the EE BAFTA Film Awards ceremony.

The nominees were announced by actor and producer, Stephen Graham. The jury for the 2024 Rising Stars Award was chaired by Anna Higgs, BAFTA Film Committee Chair, and featured actors Daisy Edgar-Jones, Ṣọpẹ́ Dìrísù and Himesh Patel, casting directors Lucy Bevan (The Batman), and Nina Gold (Game of Thrones), film producer Adam Ackland (The End We Start From) alongside leading industry specialists.

Jane Millichip, CEO at BAFTA, said: “I am delighted to celebrate the exceptional talent showcased by this year’s five nominees for the EE Rising Star Award. These remarkable individuals represent what BAFTA and the EE Rising Star Award stand for as the future of the film industry, embodying innovation, dedication, and a commitment to storytelling that captivates audiences worldwide. I look forward to seeing who will take home the award on 18th February.”

Read more C4 board still not representative of desired levels of diversity, says chair