Game of Thrones prequel House of the Dragon and BBC medical drama This Is Going To Hurt won three awards each at the BAFTA Television Craft Awards 2023.

Celebrating the best behind-the-scenes television talent of 2022, the ceremony was hosted on Sunday by Mel Giedroyc.

4. House of the Dragon, This Is Going to Hurt Lead BAFTA TV Craft Award Winners

This is Going to Hurt: Adam Kay won a BAFTA

House of the Dragon’s awards saw Amanda Knight, Barrie Gower and Rosalia Culora win for Make-Up & Hair Design; Alastair Sirkett, Doug Cooper, Martin Seeley, Paula Fairfield, Tim Hands and Adele Fletcher for Sound: Fiction; and Angus Bickerton, Nikeah Forde, Asa Shoul, Mike Dawson, MPC and Pixomodo for Special, Visual & Graphic Effects.

Read more Behind the Scenes: House of the Dragon

This is Going to Hurt three prizes saw first-time winner Adam Kay win a BAFTA for Writer: Drama, for the series based upon his memoir as a junior doctor; Selina MacArthur, also a first-time winner, won for Editing Fiction; and Nina Gold and Martin Ware won for Scripted Casting.

The State Funeral of HM Queen Elizabeth II won in two categories: Peter Bridges, Matthew Charles, Conrad Fletcher, Julian Gough, Andy James and Andy Payne for Sound: Factual; and Directing Team for Director: Multi-Camera.

The Emerging Talent: Fiction award went to writer Pete Jackson for Somewhere Boy, and Emerging Talent: Factual saw producer/director Charlie Melville win for John & Joe Bishop: Life After Deaf.

Other first-time BAFTA winners were: Felicity Morris, Director: Factual for The Tindler Swindler; William Stefan Smith, Director: Fiction for Top Boy; Lisa McGee, Writer: Comedy for Derry Girls; Jane Petrie, Costume Design for The Essex Serpent; Jessica Jones, Original Music: Factual for Jimmy Savile: A British Horror Story; Nicôle Lecky, Bryan Senti, Kwame ‘KZ’ Kwei-Armah JR, Original Music: Fiction for Mood; Chas Appeti, Photography & Lighting: Fiction for Jungle; and Becky Sloan and Joe Pelling, Production Design for Don’t Hug Me I’m Scared.

Editing: Factual was won by Rupert Houseman for Chernobyl: The Lost Tapes; Entertainment Craft Team was won by Catherine Land, David Bishop, Patrick Doherty, Richard Sillitto, David Newton and Joe Phillips for Strictly Come Dancing; Photography: Factual was won by Marcel Mettelsiefen and Jordan Bryon for Children of the Taliban and Peter Anderson Studio won Titles and Graphic Identity for Bad Sisters.

The Television Craft Special Award was presented by Adrian Lester to Alison Barnett in recognition of her pioneering role as one of the very first female Heads of Production in the UK television industry. Alison Barnett is the first Head of Production to receive a BAFTA honorary award.

The BAFTA Television Awards will take place on May 14.

Read more Going beyond TV