Michael Eberhard, CTO of German broadcaster ARD/SWR, has been elected Chair of the European Broadcasting Union’s (EBU) Technical Committee.

Eberhard takes over from ERT’s Michael Nugent who led the Technical Committee from 2022 to 2024.

3. Michael Eberhard elected chair of EBU’s Technical Committee

Michael Eberhard has been elected chair of EBU’s Technical Committee

Brian Wynne from Irish public broadcaster RTÉ and Annsofi Eriksson from Swedish Radio were elected first and second Vice Chairs respectively.

Eberhard, Wynne and Eriksson were elected to their posts at the 30th EBU Technical Assembly, hosted by Italian broadcaster Rai in Naples this year. The Assembly also voted in a new Technical Committee who include Gino Alberico (Rai, Italy); Morten Brandstrup (TV 2, Denmark); Deividas Grabauskas (LRT, Lithuania); Harald Kräuter (ORF, Austria); Monica Palomo (RTP, Portugal); Ivana Prpic (HRT, Croatia); Robin Ribback (SRG/SWISS TXT, Switzerland); Victor Sanchez (RTVE, Spain); Simon Tuff (BBC, United Kingdom); and Willem Vermost (VRT, Belgium).

Read more Blackmagic unveils camera system tailored for Apple Immersive Video

The annual Technical Assembly gathers high-level representatives from all EBU Members for an exchange on technical topics of strategic importance to public service media. It also elects a new Technical Committee every two years.

The 13 Member representatives of the Technical Committee shape the direction of the work carried out by the EBU’s Technology & Innovation department on behalf of the EBU Membership and through the collaborative Strategic Programmes and working groups coordinated by the department.

Read more Volumetric capture: how to bridge the skills gap for broadcast professionals