The IABM has announced the shortlist for its new Broadcast and Media Awards (BaMs) which will be presented during NAB 2018.

The categories have been modelled on the structure of the industry, from creation through to management and consumption. 

A panel of over 40 judges decided on four entrants per category, scrutinising in excess of 100 submissions and will visit the shortlisted entrants during NAB to ensure they meet the rules of entry. 

IABM Director Strategic Insight and Chair of the judging panel John Ive said: “The quality and breadth of innovation embodied in the entries this year was quite simply outstanding.

“Innovation is still clearly very much at the heart of what drives this industry forward, and the judges face a real challenge in selecting the final winners.

”Many of the disruptive changes facing our industry are represented by the wide ranging applications. Just making the shortlist is a considerable achievement in the face of consistently high-level competition.”

The winners will be announced at the IABM BaM Awards ceremony on Tuesday 10 April in Las Vegas. 

The shortlist: 


ARRI – ALEXA Large Format System

Chrosziel – Chrosziel Zoom Servo Drive CDM-MK-Z

Rotolight – Anova PRO 2 Professional LED lighting

Sachtler and Vinten – flowtech Camera Tripod Technology


NEP Group – NEP Andrews Hubs

Ross Video – Ross Graphite All-in-One Production System

Tedial – SMARTLIVE Automated LIVE Sports Solution

Vizrt – Viz Libero AR augmented reality sports analysis


Amagi Media Labs – Cognitive playout infrastructure with ML-augmented content preparation


Prime Focus Technologies – Secure Subtitling Tool for Pre-release content

Skyline Communications – DataMiner flow and service orchestration for all-IP media infrastructures



Simplestream – VOD-in-a-Box

Wowza Media Systems – Wowza ClearCaster: Improving the Success of Facebook Live Broadcasts

ZOO Digital – ZOOdubs cloud dubbing service


Deluxe Entertainment Services Group

NAGRA – OpenTV Signature Edition

NPAW (Nice People At Work) – YOUBORA AI 2018

Simplestream – VOD-in-a-Box


Eutelsat – smart programme guide

Massive Interactive – Massive AXIS: how Telecine Play Grew its OTT Traffic by 75%

NAGRA – OpenTV Signature Edition

NeuLion – NeuLion Digital Platform Advanced Mobile Experience


Artel Video Systems – SMART Media Delivery Platform

Dejero – Dejero CellSat: Connectivity when you need it, where you need it.

GatesAir – GatesAir IPConnect: Reliable Data Transport and Protection over IP Networks

MuxLab – SDI over IP Uncompressed Extender



Imagine Products and StorageDNA – dnaLTFS with myLTOdna and PrimeTranscoder

Object Matrix

Western Digital


Sonifex Ltd – AVN-PXH12, Rackmount AES67 Stream Mix Monitor

SpectraCal / Portrait Displays – CalMAN 3D LUT Auto Calibration for LG OLED Displays

TAG V.S. – MCM-9000U: IP-based, software-only multiviewer/monitoring solution

Telos Alliance TV Solutions Group – Telos Infinity IP Intercom

Project, collaboration, event or alternative product/service

DAVID Systems – Pop-Up Radio

NEP Group & Discovery Networks – Cloud-Based MAM System for the Olympic Games

Nevion – Norway’s TV 2 chooses Nevion for intra- and inter-facility IP media transport

Zhejiang Radio&TV Group / Sobey – China Blue Cloud

Evs peter wayne 2017 award winner

IABM Peter Wayne 2017 award winner: EVS

All winning entrants from each category will be submitted for the IABM Peter Wayne Award. 

EVS was awarded the 2017 Peter Wayne Awards for its X.ONE single operator live multicam production.

The 2018 winner will be announced at the IABM Annual International Business Conference and Awards in December 2018.