• RTS Scotland unveils Student TV Awards
  • University of Edinburgh students bag four gongs
  • All nominated and winning films to feature STV Player

Paul Barrie (Double Winner), Writing and Drama

2020 Student Television Awards: Double Winner Paul Barrie (centre), Writing and Drama

Source: RTS

The Royal Television Society’s (RTS) Scotland Centre last night honoured the winners of its 2020 Student Television Awards.

The Awards, sponsored by STV, were unveiled at a glittering ceremony held at The Everyman Cinema, Princes Square, Glasgow. The event was hosted by STV Entertainment Reporter Laura Boyd.

The RTS Student Television Awards celebrate audiovisual work created by students at undergraduate and postgraduate level in ten categories across Animation, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama, Short Form, Factual, Production Design, Editing, Sound, Camera, and Writing.

The University of Edinburgh led the way on the night, taking home four awards, with The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland following with two wins, retaining the gong for both Drama and Writing for a second year running.

James Wilson, chair of RTS Scotland Student Television Awards said: “Our industry depends upon the development of young people, their skill growing with their confidence under the guidance of their tutors and mentors. This year’s programmes are as strong as ever and decisions were long argued and often very close. Every nominated team and individual should be proud of their achievement.”

Simon Pitts, CEO of STV: “Scotland is brimming with exciting creative talent and STV is very proud to be sponsoring the RTS Scotland Student Television Awards again this year. As last year all the nominees will be offered a platform to showcase their fantastic programmes on the STV Player, where 4/5ths of the Scottish population are already registered users.

“Highlights of the awards ceremony will also be available on the STV Player and beyond that STV will be offering mentoring to the winners as they start their journey in this exciting and vibrant industry.”

All nominated and winning films will be available on STV Player from 12th February 2020.

Please see below the full list of nominations and winners:


WINNER – Margin of Terror – Kieran McLister (University of Edinburgh)


Cohabitation - Eilidh Nicoll (University of Edinburgh)

Crust - Isabella Avery, James Crang, Amy Scott, Leah Bradbury, Sara Balestrieri, Matthew Errington, Andres Vasco (University of Edinburgh)

Comedy & Entertainment

WINNER – Flit - Jack Allen, Elías Nader, Ina Morken, Laurence Jenkins & Carey Melanie Osborne (University of Edinburgh)


The British Border - Kenneth Maguire, John Perivolaris, Gemma Munro, Eve Christie, Craig King, Caitlin Macintyre (Glasgow Clyde College)

Hello Angel - Adam Burns, Niall MacRae (City of Glasgow College)


WINNER – Spare Parts - Paul Barrie, Victoria Jones, Martin MacLeod, Elettra Arnell, Karo Pietilä, Astrid Hjermind and Ana Meljo (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


“Lost Brothers” - Alex Cormack, Julia Tirkkonen, Annie Phelan, Josh Partington, Eve Manson, Kirsty Scott (University of the West of Scotland)

“We Three” - Will Peppercorn, George Harwood and Grace Dickson (University of Edinburgh)

Short Form

WINNER – Tom Urie: Mental Health and Depression - Cameron Thom, Ryan Price, Emma Cunningham (City of Glasgow College)


Fighting Back - Kieran McNairn, Wardah Bilal, Edward Hallam, Cameron Rainey, Courtney Deans, Karolina Krok (Glasgow Clyde College)

Baby Boxes - Niall MacRae and Adam Burns (City of Glasgow College)


WINNER – Grime Scheme Scotland - Daniel Greig, Julian Greenwood, Lawrence Hector, Neil Cunninghame, Jack Darrer and Kieran Colquhoun (University of the West of Scotland)


“Sisters in Song” - Catherine Mitchell, Caroline McCaw and Campbell Wallace (University of Stirling)

“Sannah Hussain - Outside Fighter” - Sannah Hussain, JoJo Murray, Zane Apsite (City of Glasgow College)


WINNER – Spare Parts - Paul Barrie (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

Production Design

WINNER – The Lost Sock - Molly Simmons (University of Edinburgh)


WINNER – My Urban Fox Film - Mikey Sneddon (Edinburgh Napier University)


WINNER – The Lost Sock - Laura Wiggett (University of Edinburgh)


WINNER – Adam and the Alphas – Murray Leitch (University of Stirling)