Harmonic, Bridge Technologies and Teleste were among the companies honoured at the Society for Broadband Professionals (SCTE) awards, which also celebrated individual achievements for work in the broadband arena. 


SCTE President Mike Thornton said: “This has been a fantastic year for our awards, with an impressive selection of entries showing the scope of innovation in the industry.

“We would like to express our congratulations to all of the entrants, runners-up and winners for their broadband technology advancements, which are sure to have a great impact on our industry.”

The awards presentation took place at a gala dinner on the 17 June at Drapers’ Hall in London.

Scte mike crimp award

Mike Thornton with Michael Crimp (right)

Individual achievement award winners 

An Honorary Fellowship of the Society was awarded to IBC CEO Michael Crimp.

The 2017 Richard Harris Member of the Year Award went to Damian Johnstone, FSCTE Senior Manager of Access Platform Engineering - Testing & Type Approval for LG, Virgin Media.

The award for SCTE Engineer of the Year of 2017 was given to FSCTE Principal Technical Site Engineer, Virgin Media Eric Harvey.

The winner of the 2017 David Hall Award for Best Presentation was awarded to Ron Hranac HFSCTE Technical Leader, Engineering, Cisco Systems, Inc. for his lecture presentation ‘DOCSIS® 3.1 – An Overview (Parts 1 and 2)’.

Technology innovation award winners

  • Best Broadband Network Transmission Solution:
    Winner: Bridge Technologies, Nomad Network test and analysis equipment
    Runner-up: Arcom Digital LLC, Network Traffic Compatible (NTC) Time Domain Reflectometer (TDR)

  • Best Digital Processing Solution:
    Winner: Harmonic Inc., EyeQ Video Compression Optimisation Solution
    Runner-up: Technetix Ltd., T-Box

  • Best CPE Solution:
    Winner: Teleste, Class A++ Flylead with Cold Flow (Creep) and Galvanic Compensation
    Runner-up: ARRIS, DCX960 Set-Top Box

SCTE 2017 Technological Innovation of the Year Award and winner of the best overall submission was Teleste for its Class A++ Flylead with Cold Flow (Creep) and Galvanic Compensation.

2017 dinner award winners group photo

SCTE 2017 award winners

The SCTE, founded in 1945 is an educational society and non-profit organisation whose aim is to raise the standard of broadband engineering in the telecommunications industry.

It is dedicated to fostering training and career advancement for technical professionals in the field.

The SCTE is one of the six IBC Partners.