Ed Miliband and Hilary Mantel were among the winners of the Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) Awards for podcast and radio programme of the year.

Ed miliband and geoff lloyd bpg awards

Ed Miliband and Geoff Lloyd win ‘Best Podcast of the Year’ at the BPG Awards

The new award, BPG Podcast of the Year, recognised the growing influence of podcasts. It was won by former Labour leader Ed Miliband and Geoff Lloyd’s series Reasons to be Cheerful.

Dame Hilary Mantel’s series exploring the challenges and legitimacy of historical fiction, BBC Reith Lectures, scooped Radio Programme of the Year. 

Meanwhile, Blue Planet II picked up Best Documentary Series and The Crown Best Online First/Streaming production.

The BPG Radio Broadcaster of the Year was awarded to Emma Barnett for her interview with current Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn during the 2017 election campaign, where Corbyn forgot one of the major policy announcements during his interview on BBC 4’s Women’s Hour.  

Emma barnet bpg radio boradcaster of the year

Emma Barnet awarded the BPG Radio Broadcaster of the Year

The television winners for the 44th Awards recognised Sir David Attenborough, Claire Foy, Prue Leith, Mark Bonnar, Steve Coogan, Mackenzie Crook, Toby Jones, Chris Packham and Jed Mercurio for work commissioned in the UK.

BPG Chair Caroline Frost said: ”After 44 years, our Guild continues to evolve in line with the ever-changing broadcasting landscape and this year we’ll be recognising for the first time our Podcast of the Year.

“In choosing our winners, we argue fiercely about what’s popular and what’s ambitious, what’s progressive and what’s truly original and we’ve honoured these requirements in our list of very worthy winners.

“It’s been an extraordinary year in entertainment, not just in the quality on-screen but in some of the controversies and scandals that have been uncovered away from it - and the British broadcasting industry has not gone unmarked.

”One thing we have to do today is give recognition to the BBC women, and all those who have put their heads above the parapet in pursuit of fair treatment, not just for themselves but for all women across the business.”

The award for Best Actress went to Claire Foy for her portrayal of Queen Elizabeth II in Netflix’s The Crown, which also won the award for Best Online First/Streaming production.  

Mark Bonnar was named Best Actor for his high-profile roles in Unforgotten, Eric, Ernie and Me, Catastrophe and Apple Tree Yard, as well as in the latest series of Shetland on BBC One. 

The BBC One police series Line of Duty was named Best Drama Series, and its creator Jed Mercurio won the award for Best Writer. BBC One’s Three Girls was named Best Single Drama/Mini-series for the drama based on the true stories of victims of grooming and sexual abuse in Rochdale.

Bbc three girls tv s how

BBC One’s ‘Three Girls’ Best Single Drama/Mini-series 

Blue Planet II for BBC One was named Best Documentary Series and Chris Packham: Aspergers and Me on BBC Two won the award for Best Single Documentary. 

Channel 4 won the award for Best Entertainment/Factual Entertainment category, for its first series of The Great British Bake Off. BBC Four’s Detectorists was named Best Comedy

Sky Atlantic’s The Trip to Spain, featuring Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon on the latest stage of their culinary travels, won the award for Best Multichannel (non-PSB) programme

The annual Harvey Lee Award for an Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting was given to the children’s television producers Biddy Baxter and Edward Barnes, in special recognition of Blue Peter, which celebrates its 60th anniversary this year. 

The BPG Award for Innovation went to Channel 4 for its latest advances in championing diversity both on and off screen. These include initiatives such as Spotlight on Directors and diversity throughout its commissioning - in programmes such as Ackley Bridge, The Last Leg and its 50 Shades of Gay season. 

Awarded were voted by independent journalists who cover television and radio and were presented at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane in London.

The full list of BPG TV and Radio Awards winners:

Best Single Drama/Mini-series

Three Girls

A BBC Studios in association with Studio Lambert production for BBC One

Best Drama Series

Line of Duty

Produced by World Productions for BBC One

Best Single Documentary

Chris Packham: Asperger’s and Me

A Raw TV production for BBC Two

Best Documentary Series

Blue Planet II

A co-production of BBC Worldwide, WDR, BBC America, Tencent, The Open University, France Televisions & CCTV9 made by BBC Studios, Natural History Unit for BBC One

Best Entertainment

The Great British Bake Off

A Love Productions production for Channel 4

Best Digital First Streaming

The Crown

A Left Bank Pictures, Sony Pictures TV Company production for Netflix

Best Comedy


A Channel X North, Treasure Trove Productions & Lola Entertainment production for BBC Four

Best Multichannel Programme

The Trip to Spain

A Revolution Films, Baby Cow, Small Man Production for Sky Atlantic

Radio Broadcaster of the Year

Emma Barnett

The Emma Barnett Show, BBC Radio 5 Live, and Woman’s Hour, BBC Radio 4

Radio Programme of the Year

BBC Reith Lectures 2017: Hilary Mantel

A BBC Radio Current Affairs production for BBC Radio 4

Podcast of the Year

Reasons to be Cheerful

A Cheerful Thinking production

Best Actor

Mark Bonnar for Eric, Ernie and Me (BBC Four), Apple Tree Yard (BBC One), Catastrophe (Channel 4), Unforgotten (ITV)

Best Actress

Claire Foy for The Crown (Netflix)

Best Writer

Jed Mercurio for Line of Duty (BBC One)

Innovation Award

Channel 4 for new advances in championing diversity, including initiatives such as Spotlight on Directors and diversity throughout its commissioning and in its advertising.

Harvey Lee Award

Biddy Baxter & Edward Barnes, children’s television producers, in special recognition of Blue Peter.