The Royal Television Society (RTS) has launched the RTS Craft & Design Awards 2021. 

The awards are now open and accepting entries from today until Wednesday 1 September 2021.

Ade Rawcliffe, group director of diversity and inclusion at ITV has come on board to chair this year’s Craft & Design Awards, which will announce the winners in November.

Welcoming entries from both broadcasters and individual crafts people, the awards celebrate excellence in broadcast television and aim to recognise the huge variety of skills and processes involved in programme making.

Mim Shaikh RTS Craft and Design Awards

Mim Shaikh: Presenter of RTS Craft and Design Awards 2020

Entries are now open across all 29 competitive categories ranging from the Casting Award, now in its second year, to Production Design – Drama and Lighting for Multicamera. There are also two additional awards presented at the discretion of the RTS, the prestigious RTS Special Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Chair of the Awards, Ade Rawcliffe, said: “Despite a challenging 18 months for the industry, we have also seen great innovation, determination and resourcefulness. The country locked down, but many of us kept going, so it is an important year for us to come together to celebrate the incredible crafts people and content the television industry has produced.

“I am so pleased to be Chairing the awards, and we are keen to receive submissions from the broadest range of talent possible. We want to recognise the depth of world-class practitioners we have here in the UK, and who come from all types of backgrounds.”

The RTS said that awards juries will “take into careful consideration production differences, budget and time scale involved and, in line with other RTS awards, the RTS stresses that entrants should show awareness of the need to recognise diversity in the industry and the wider community when submitting their content”.

Entries must have been first transmitted between 1 September 2020 and 31 August 2021, and the deadline for submissions is 1 September 2021.

For the full list of categories and for more information visit the RTS