The Royal Television Society is accepting entries from ambitious engineers and technologists who have recently embarked on a career in broadcast or related industries.

The Young Technologist Award aims to celebrate new talent and advance education in the science, practice, technology and art of television.

Simon Hui 2021 RTS Tech of Year Winner

Simon Hui 2021 Winner, RTS Technologist of the Year

Those new to the industry who are working within the technical side of broadcasting or related industries are encouraged to apply. Potential winners could be individuals working for broadcasters, production companies and facilities houses, hardware and software suppliers to the industry, telecommunications suppliers of television capacity services, and recognised research institutions which are contributing in a demonstrable way to television in the UK.

Previous years’ winners include Simon Hui, Graduate Technical Engineer at Timeline TV, and Krystel Richards, Associate Broadcast-IT Engineer at CNN/ WarnerMedia. Both were recognised for their exceptional knowledge, understanding ofthe industry and their vision for the future.

The 2021 runner up and recipient of the Coffey Award of Excellence in Technology was Gabriella Watkins, a Broadcast Technician at television facility Dock10.

Chair of the RTS Young Technologist of the Year Award Jury, Terry Marsh, said: “The past two years have shown technological innovation to be the beating heart of the television industry as we have adapted in the face of challenges and the constantly evolving landscape. It is hugely important for us to be celebrating these young technologists and to keep providing them with opportunities to continue pushing our industry forward.”

Entries are now open and the RTS will accept submissions until 5pm on Monday 23 May. For more information and to apply click here.