• IABM opens awards nominations
  • Nominations can be made by anyone in the industry
  • Winners to be announced 4 December in London

Iabm ba m awards

IABM: Awards entries now open

The IABM has opened entries for its annual awards which recognise and reward exceptional talent and dedication. 

The IABM is seeking nominations for the Broadcast/Media Company of the Year, Technology Leader of the Year, Creative Collaboration and the Andrew Jones Young Person of the Year.

The overall winner of this year’s Peter Wayne Golden BaM Award chosen by judges from the 20 BaM Awards winners at IBC and NAB will also be announced at the gala awards dinner.

IABM chief executive Peter White said: “With the breakneck speed of change in our industry, we don’t often stop to reflect on how we got to where we are.

“These awards seek to recognise and reward the people and companies that have driven this transformation, and I would urge anyone who knows of a worthy candidate to submit a nomination for them.”

The winners will be announced at IABM’s Annual International Business Conference and Awards at the Royal Garden Hotel in London on 4 December.

Nominations can be made by anyone in the industry here before the deadline on 15 November.

The criteria for nominations in each category are:

Broadcast/Media Company of the Year

Companies that have demonstrated that they are at the forefront of creating and distributing exceptional content through innovation across the content chain.

2018 winner: NEP Australia for its continent-wide IP remote production

Technology leader of the Year

Someone at the forefront of disruption and innovation within the broadcast and media industry who, through inspiring leadership, has helped to deliver ground-breaking technology and business benefits.

2018 winner: Michael Cronk for his pivotal role in clearing the way to an IP future with AIMS

Creative Collaboration

Extraordinary innovations that have been realized through creative collaboration between technology suppliers and their customers that provide measurable commercial and/or creative benefits to the customer.

2018 winner: FOX Sports for its remote production of the FIFA World Cup in collaboration with Reach Engine by Levels Beyond, Amazon Web Services (AWS), IBM Aspera, Telestream and CenturyLink

Andrew Jones Young Person of the Year

This award recognises someone new to the industry (under 25 years old) for their hard work, diligence and potential.

This award has been renamed in honour of Andrew Jones who died in March 2019. Jones was IABM head of training and played a vital part in the development of the IABM’s educational initiatives and fostering the next generation of talent.

2018 winner: Dominik Schulz, student at RheinMain University of Applied Sciences